The Chair

BHP Chair of Australian Studies located at Peking University in Beijing, People's Republic of China (the Chair). the Chair was created to enhance Australian Studies at Peking University and to support Australian Studies Centres located at other Chinese universities and institutes. The Chair was created with generous support of BHP Group, Peking University, The Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations of the Australian Commonwealth Government, Universities Australia and Australia China Council.

Current Chair - Professor Pookong Kee

Professor Kee is the Third BHP Chair of Australian Studies at Peking University. He has been the Chair since February 2019. He has also been the Director of the University’s Asia Institute since October 2010.
kpk - headshot 01
He has held various academic and public-sector positions in the Asia-Pacific region, including as Director of the Chinese Heritage Center in Singapore, Professor of the Graduate School of Asia Pacific Studies and Director of the Ritsumeikan Centre for Asia Pacific Studies in Japan, as well as Assistant Director of Australia’s Bureau of Immigratikon and Population Research. His recent teaching and research interests relate mostly to Asia-Pacific affairs, especially on international migration, diasporas, cultural diversity and Australia-Asia relations.

Second Chair - Professor Greg McCarthy

Professor McCarthy was the Second BHP Billiton Chair of Australian Studies at Peking University. He has been the Chair since February 2016. He also holds a professorial chair in Australian Politics at the University of Western Australia.

Professor McCarthy was educated at the University of Adelaide (BA. Ph.D). His main teaching and research interests are on Australian politics, Australia-China relations and the internationalisation of higher education. Greg McCarthy has held senior management positions including the Head of School of Social Sciences (2009 -2014), Acting Executive Dean and the Director of International Engagement for the Faculty of Arts (2014).  He is currently a co-director of two research centres, one in Beijing Foreign Studies University (BFSU), the China-Australia Centre for Transcultural Studies (CATS), and one at the University of Adelaide, the Australia-China Centre for Transcultural studies (ACTS).

Professor McCarthy has been a regular media commentator on Australian politics. He has also served as National Vice-President for the National Tertiary Education Union.

Inaugural Chair - Emeritus Professor David Walker

Professor David Walker served as the inaugural BHP Billiton Chair of Australian Studies at Peking University, from February 2013 to January 2016.

Professor Walker has written extensively on Australian representations of Asia. His prize-winning book, Anxious Nation: Australia and the Rise of Asia, 1850 to 1939 (UQP, 1999) has been translated into Chinese and published by China Renmin University Press (2009). An English edition was published in India in the same year and a Hindi translation will be published in 2013. He is the co-editor with Agnieszka Sobocinska of Australia’s Asia: From Yellow Peril to Asian Century (UWA Publishing, 2012).

A collection of his Asia-related essays has been published under the title Encountering Turbulence: Asia in the Australian Imaginary (Readworthy, 2013). His recently published personal history, Not Dark Yet is being translated into Chinese by Professor Li Yao and will be published by The People’s Literature Publishing House, Beijing, in 2014. Professor Walker is a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia and the Australian Academy of the Humanities.